Archiving and Restoring Scenes
Learn how to archive and restore scenes in Novelcrafter.
By default, you cannot delete scenes. Instead, you archive them - they will always be there in the cloud in case you have regrets and want them back.
If you want to delete a chapter, you first need to archive all the scenes within it, or move them to other chapters.
Archiving a Scene
In Plan
For scenes that have writing (in either the scene or the scene summary), you can archive them by accessing the scene actions menu (three dots) next to the scene title. At the bottom is the option to Archive Scene .

In Write
In the manuscript, you can also access the action menu, and click Archive Scene .

Restoring a Scene
In Plan
At the bottom of each chapter in the Plan interface, click the + New button. In the menu that appears, there is an option to Add Scene From Archive .

You can also restore archived scenes by clicking on a chapters actions menu (three dots), selecting + New , then Add Scene From Archive .
In Write
At the bottom of each chapter in the Write interface, you can also use the + New button. In the menu that appears, there is an option to Add Scene From Archive .

A modal will then appear. You can click through any archived scenes and insert or delete them.
Deleting the scene here removes it from your story permanently.

Inserting a scene will append it to the end of the selected chapter. You do not have to readd the scene in the same place you archived it from.